Israel Adesanya and 12 more undefeated champions in the history of UFC

October 07, 11:03 pm
Максим Гагарин
Israel Adesanya and 12 more undefeated champions in the history of UFC

Top UFC middleweight Israel Adesanya managed to shock the world last weekend. Not only had he defeated Robert Whittaker by a confident knockout, he also joined the ranks of other UFC champions who came to power with “0” in their loss section. 

Harcord looked through the list of all UFC champions in the history of the promotion and found 12 that earned the title staying undefeated. 

Mark Coleman (5-0, Heavyweight) – the first champion of the promotion in the heavyweight and a true pioneer of the sport that managed to earn the belt with five wins in his record. He got the title in February 1997 against another legend Dan Severn. 

Randy Couture (3-0, Heavyweight) – another living legend of the promotion that became one of the godfathers of Greco-Roman wrestling in MMA. He earned the heavyweight championship title in December 1997 with only three wins (and zero losses) in his record. He beat well-known kickboxer Maurice Smith. 

Tim Sylvia(14-0, Heavyweight) – unlike the abovementioned fighters, Sylvia was a rather experienced fighter when he received the title; his record counted 14 wins. He earned the belt in February 2003 against American judo master Wesley Correira. 

Cain Velasquez (8-0, Heavyweight) – one of the members of the newest UFC history that became champion in October 2010. After securing eight dominant victories, he faced Brock Lesnar whom he defeated by first-round TKO. 

Rashad Evans (12-0-1, Light heavyweight) – the winner of The Ultimate Fighter season 2 managed to become champion in December 2008 when he beat Forrest Griffin. By that time Evans’s record had 12 wins and one draw. 

Lyoto Machida (14-0, Light heavyweight) – Brazilian karateka Lyoto Machida earned the title against Rashad Evans in May 2009, having flawless record of 14 straight wins. 

Chris Weidman (9-0, Middleweight) – once formidable middleweight, now trying to straight his career back, made a big statement in July 2012 when he knocked out Anderson Silva in the third round. His record counted nine straight wins back then. 

Israel Adesanya (17-0, Middleweight) – one of the most talented strikers in the history of the UFC that earned his title last Sunday against Robert Whittaker. He approached the fight with 17 wins in his record. 

Khabib Nurmagomedov (25-0, Lightweight) – the first Russian champion in the history of the UFC and one of the main stars of the promotion. He earned his title last April against Al Iaquinta, approaching the fight with impressive 25 wins in a row. 

Cody Garbrandt (10-0, Bantamweight) – American fighter Cody Garbrandt rushed into the UFC bantamweight division in 2015 and earned his title a year later, defeating Dominick Cruz. By the time of the fight he had a record of 10 wins. 

Ronda Rousey (6-0, Bantamweight, women’s) – unlike other fighters in this list, the first female champion in the history of the UFC didn’t get the title in the fight; she received it after moving from Strikeforce. It happened in November 2012 and by that time Ronda had 6 straight wins in her record. 

Holly Holm (9-0, Bantamweight, women’s) – she was the one who dethroned Rousey in November 2015, approaching the fight with nine straight wins. 

Joanna Jędrzejczyk (8-0, Strawweight, women’s) – second strawweight champion in the history of the promotion earned the title in March 2015 when she brutally beat Carla Esparza. Her record contained eight wins by that time.